About me

Indonesian-born Soprano Erika Tandiono specialises in music from the 16th to the 18th century and is praised for her “bell-clear” voice, virtuosity and excellent musical ornaments. The highlights of her engagements in 2021 include a CD recording with Ensemble Weser-Renaissance Bremen, concerts with Ensemble Vox Luminis and a recurring tour with the European Hanseatic Ensemble.  

Erika has performed in some of the most prestigious music festivals worldwide, such as the International Heinrich-Schütz Festival (Germany), Festival de Saintes (France) and Organs of the Ballarat Goldfields Festival (Australia). In 2020 she received the Bovicelli Young Talent Award for her own diminution in the Bovicelli Competition, a competition focusing on the late Renaissance and early Baroque vocal diminutions. The group that she co-founded, Ensemble Thamyris, is chosen as a finalist of the Ensemble Competition “Förderpreis Alte Musik 2020” in Saarland, which, unfortunately, has to be cancelled due to the pandemic. Erika has performed as a soloist with some of the most distinguished ensembles and orchestras in Australia, such as the Royal Melbourne Philharmonic Orchestra, Australian Chamber choir and Ludovico’s Band. She was the soprano soloist in a number of oratorio performances with the Melbourne Baroque Orchestra between 2015 and 2018, such as The Messiah (Händel), St. John Passion and Mass in B minor (J. S. Bach). Her operatic roles include The Second Woman from Dido and Aeneas (Purcell), La Poésie from Les Arts Florissants (M-A. Charpentier) and Die Zweite Dame from The Magic Flute (Mozart). She has recorded CDs under the labels of Move Records (Australia) and Arcantus (Germany). From 2015 until 2018 she held the position of the Principal Soprano at the Scots’ Presbyterian Church in Melbourne, Australia.

As a newcomer in the classical music scene in Germany, Erika collaborates actively with local musicians and young chamber music ensembles, such as Bremer Barock Consort, Geigenconsort Bremen, Ensemble Sua Dolce Maestà and Ensemble Musica getutsch. Despite all of the concert cancellations due to the pandemic, she remains active by doing researches, video and audio recordings and concerts planning on top of rehearsals.

Erika is currently completing her Master’s degree studies of Early Music (Voice) at the University of Arts Bremen under the tutelage of Prof. Benno Schachtner, Bettina Pahn and Gerd Türk. She has also had masterclasses with other mentors such as Manfred Cordes, Alessandro Quarta, Dame Emma Kirkby and Ulrike Hofbauer. In 2012 she studied Historical Gesture under Helga Hill, a recipient of the Order of Australia medal, and since then has applied it in many of her performances. Before deciding to come to Germany in 2018 to pursue her passion in Early Music more deeply, Erika worked as dental assistant alongside her work as a freelance singer and a voice teacher in Melbourne, Australia. Together with other Indonesian musicians based in Europe, Erika wishes to introduce Baroque Singing to the Indonesian classical music community.

 

Last time modified in July 2021.


A more elaborate Curriculum Vitae with a repertoire list can be provided upon request.

Über mich

Die in Indonesien geborene Sopranistin Erika Tandiono hat sich auf Musik des 16. bis 18. Jahrhunderts spezialisiert und wird für ihre "glockenreine" Stimme, ihre Virtuosität und ihre ausgezeichneten musikalischen Verzierungen gelobt. Zu den Höhepunkten ihrer Engagements im Jahr 2021 gehören Konzerte und CD-Aufnahmen mit den Ensembles Weser-Renaissance Bremen und Vox Luminis und eine Konzerttournee mit dem Europäischen Hanse-Ensemble.

Erika tritt weltweit auf Musikfestivals auf, darunter das Internationale Heinrich-Schütz-Fest und Musikfest Bremen (DE), das Festival de Saintes (FR) und das Organs of the Ballarat Goldsfields Festival (AU). Im Jahr 2020 gewann Erika den Bovicelli Young Talent Award für ihre eigenen Diminutionen beim Bovicelli-Wettbewerb, der sich auf die Vokaldiminutionen der Spätrenaissance und des Frühbarocks konzentriert. Mit dem Ensemble Thamyris wurde sie als Finalistin für den Ensemblewettbewerb "Förderpreis Alte Musik 2020" im Saarland ausgewählt (das Finale musste wegen der Pandemie ausfallen). Erika ist als Solistin mit einigen der wichtigsten Ensembles und Orchestern in Australien aufgetreten, wie z.B. dem Royal Melbourne Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Australian Chamber Choir und Ludovico's Band. Zwischen 2015 und 2018 war sie Solosopranistin in einer Reihe von Oratorienaufführungen mit dem Melbourne Baroque Orchestra, wie z. B. dem Messias (Händel), der Johannespassion und der h-moll-Messe (J. S. Bach). Zu ihren Opernrollen gehören 'The Second Woman' aus Dido und Aeneas (Purcell), La Poésie aus Les Arts Florissants (M-A. Charpentier) und die 'Zweite Dame' aus der Zauberflöte (W.A. Mozart). Sie hat CDs für die Labels von Ricercar, Arcantus und Move Records aufgenommen. Von 2015 bis 2018 war sie „Principal Soprano“ an der Scots' Presbyterian Church in Melbourne, Australien.

Seit ihrem Umzug nach Bremen und dem damit verbundenen Einstieg in die klassische Musikszene in Deutschland arbeitet Erika aktiv mit verschiedenen Vokalensembles und jungen Kammermusikensembles zusammen, wie Cappella Sagittariana Dresden, Geigenconsort Bremen, Ensemble Musica getutscht, Ensemble PRISMA und Capella Jenensis.

Erika schloss 2021 ihr Masterstudium für Alte Musik (Gesang) an der Hochschule für Künste Bremen erfolgreich bei Prof. Benno Schachtner, Bettina Pahn und Gerd Türk ab. Darüber hinaus nahm sie an Meisterkursen bei weiteren Mentoren wie Manfred Cordes, Alessandro Quarta, Dame Emma Kirkby und Ulrike Hofbauer teil. 2012 studierte sie historische Gestik bei Helga Hill, einer Trägerin der Order of Australia Medaille. Bevor sie sich 2018 entschied nach Deutschland zu kommen, um ihrer Leidenschaft für Alte Musik intensiver nachzugehen, arbeitete Erika neben ihrer Tätigkeit als freiberufliche Sängerin und Gesangslehrerin in Melbourne, Australien, als Zahnarzthelferin. Es ist ihr ein Anliegen, gemeinsam mit anderen in Europa lebenden indonesischen Musikern, den Barockgesang auch in der indonesischen Klassikszene bekannt zu machen.

 

Zuletzt aktualisiert im November 2021.


Ein ausfühlicher Lebenslauf mit Repertoireliste wird auf Anfrage gern zur Verfügung gestellt.